March 11, 2024

Congressman Morgan McGarvey Introduces Justice for Breonna Taylor Act

LOUISVILLE, KY (March 11, 2024) – Today, Congressman McGarvey (KY-03) and Senators Rand Paul (R-KY) and Cory Booker (D-NJ) introduced the Justice for Breonna Taylor Act. This bill would prohibit federal law enforcement and state and local police departments that receive federal funding from executing no-knock warrants. The bill is named in honor of Breonna Taylor, who was killed in her Louisville home when officers entered under the authority of a no-knock warrant. 

“Louisvillians remember Breonna Taylor and are still grieving the tragedy of her inexcusable killing by police. After Breonna’s death, we passed a ban on no-knock warrants at the state and local level — if we can do this in Kentucky, we can do this nationally,” said Rep. McGarvey. “I’m proud to partner with Senators Rand Paul and Cory Booker to move this important bill forward in the House and Senate. The Justice for Breonna Taylor Act is going to protect people and keep our communities safe.”

“It’s long past time to get rid of no-knock warrants. This bill will effectively end no-knock raids in the United States, and I’m pleased to work with Rep. McGarvey and Sen. Booker on this important legislation,” said Dr. Paul.

“No-knock warrants have been banned in Louisville and Lexington and severely restricted in the Commonwealth of Kentucky following Breonna Taylor’s death. After working on this issue locally and statewide, the ACLU of Kentucky proudly supports this federal effort to limit these legalized home invasions that put lives at risk on either side of a door. We know it was Breonna Taylor’s dream to save lives, and this proposed legislation would do just that. We applaud Congressman McGarvey and the bill’s co-sponsors for taking this bold step toward healing and justice,” said Amber Duke, ALCU-KY Executive Director.

The full bill text can be found here


Congressman Morgan McGarvey represents Kentucky’s Third Congressional District, including Louisville and Jefferson County. He serves on the House Veterans Affairs and House Small Business Committees.